Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Education Gala 2011 is Huge Success

"Celebrating our Legacy in Education” was the theme for Gala 2011 at Prairie View A&M University on April 16. The event honored and recognized the teaching alumni for their contributions to education in Texas and around the world. The gala, held on the campus for the first time, featured Dr. Rod Paige, former U.S. Secretary of Education and was hosted by the Whitlowe R. Green College of Education. Among the many recipients were former Texas Legislator Wilhelmina Fitzgerald Delco, Kevin Hoffman and Accenture as Cluster Company of the Year. The event was first class and drew a capacity crowd. Highlighting the event was the presentation of the $25K Scholarship Endowment Check from the Paul Metha Family. Metha is the former dean of education. TAMUS Chancellor McKinney commented that he was very impressed with the event and was glad that it was held on the campus and provided an opportunity to showcase the campus. PVAMU President Wright expressed his thanks to the committee for their hard work and to the audience for their continued support.

Congratulations to the PVAMU Career Outreach and Services department on receipt of a $80K grant from the Bernard Harris Foundation for the 2011 ExxonMobil-Bernard Harris Summer Science Camp on June 5-17. In its fourth year, the forensic science camp is open to students in grades 6-8 from Austin, Brazos, Waller and Washington counties. Mr. Herbert Thomas is the Camp Director. Applications are available at or call 936-261-3570 for assistance. The deadline for application is April 16, 2011.

The men of St. Francis will host its monthly Men’s Prayer Breakfast on April 16 in the Church’s Parish Hall, 204 Dooley Street, at 8:30 a.m. Please call 936-857-3272 to confirm attendance. Members of the community are also invited to the Christian Education and Bible Study on Fridays at 7 p.m. in the Parish Hall.

Plans are underway for the 2011 City of Prairie View Celebration on April 30. This year’s focus is on the Family and area churches are asked to share in the family events. For information, contact event chair Elaine Jackson, 936-857-5550 or

Please remember the following in your prayers: Vera Armstrong, Mary Boozer, The Ernestine Brown Family, Ernestine Carreathers, Hulen and Irene Davis, Mary Kemp, David and Lorraine Kirkpatrick, Irene Reid, Willie Smith and Douglas Woolfolk, who all stand in the need of prayer. May God’s blessings bring them health and strength!

April 10-16 is National Library Week and PAMU John B. Coleman Library in support of the theme: Create your own story @ your library presents Mr. Joseph A. Rivers, author of “A Young Man With a Plan” for its National Library Worker's Day program on April 12 at 2 p.m. in Room 108. Rivers is a sophomore Biology student from California. The public is invited. For information, contact Kimberly M. Gay at or 936-261-1506.

For the health of it, the ladies of the Prairie View Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. presents: “All About Lupus and More” on May 18 at 6:30 - 8:30 p.m. in the Prairie View Alumni Headquarters on university drive. Speakers for the event are Joyce Thornton for president of the Prairie View Alumnae Chapter and Rebecca Kramer, Representative from the Lupus Association. Refreshments will be served and Door prizes for the participants.]

The View from the Hill: This year has been very tremendous for the PVAMU Students In Free Enterprise (SIFE) team. With more than 20 projects under its belt, the team will close the semester with 6th Annual Entertainment Business Career Fair and the Hip Hop Conference on April 28-29 and the Business of Engineering Success Forum on April 29. For information, contact Devin Evans, SIFE’s president at (936) 261-3579.

Applications are being accepted for the 2011 Institute for Pre College Enrichment (PCI) on June 19 –July 2 at Prairie View A&M University. The PCI programs consist of 6 workshops for students entering the 9-10-11th grade in September. Applications are available at or call 936-261-3570 for assistance. The deadline for application is April 16, 2011.

Happy April birthday greetings to: Thetis Edmond (1), Mary L. Gooch (2), Seab Smith (7), Hubert D. Smith (8), Marshall Brown (8), William McQueen (9), Ernest Williams (12), Johnson Ezeoka (13) and Helen Yeh (16); and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to Johnson & Vidah Ezeoka (7).
Until next week, be mindful that "history is the rear view mirror on the road of life, so don't take it lightly." Keep the news, achievements and recognitions coming to, fax (936) 857-5352, phone (936) 857-3272 or P. O. Box 2906, Prairie View, Texas 77446.

No comments: