Saturday, November 9, 2013

Congressman Al Green is Alpha's Founders Day Speaker

at Prairie View A&M University

Congressman Al Green to address Alpha Phi Alpha Founders Day
The members of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. in Prairie View join Alphas around the world in commemorating its 107th Anniversary with a special Founders’ Day Observance Program on December 8, 2013.

The program begins at 5:00 p.m. in the Johnson Phillip All Faith Chapel at Prairie View A&M University. The speaker for the occasion is US Congressman Al Green of District 9 in Houston.

The program is open to the public and is being hosted by the Epsilon Tau Lambda (Prairie View), Pi Omicron (TAMU) and Pi Alpha Lambda (College Station) Chapters, and Sigma Gamma Lambda (Cypress-Katy), all members of Area IX of the Fraternity.

Congressman Green is serving his fifth term in the United States House of Representatives. As a veteran civil rights advocate, he has dedicated his life to fighting for those in society whose voices, too often, are not heard. He currently serves on the Financial Services Committee and subcommittees: Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit and Oversight and Investigations as the ranking member; and the Assistant Whip for the Democratic Party.

Born in New Orleans, Louisiana, Congressman Green received his early education there and later attended Florida A&M University, Howard University, and the Tuskegee Institute. He later attended the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern and earned his Juris Doctor. After law school, he co-founded and co-managed the law firm of Green, Wilson, Dewberry, and Fitch. In 1977, he was appointed judge of a Harris County, Texas Justice Court, where he served for 26 years before retiring in 2004. He also served as president of the Houston Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) for more than ten years and was helped the organization soar to unprecedented heights with increase membership and the staff to serve the people.

Congressmen Green has received many honors and recognitions to include Texas Association of REALTORS Legacy Award; Texas Black Democrats’ Profiles of Courage Award; the AFL-CIO MLK Drum Major Award for Service; Ebony Magazine’s 100 Most Influential Black People; and the NAACP Mickey Leland Humanitarian Award; and was honored by the city of Houston with the “Al Green Day in Houston” honor.

Since its founding, the fraternity has provided leadership and service during the Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movements, and addressed the social issues of apartheid, urban housing, economic, cultural, and political concerns affecting people of color. The fraternity’s major programs include Voter Education, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Boy Scouts, Brothers Keeper, March of Dimes. The organization also contributed a Million Dollars to the National Urban League, the NAACP, and the United Negro Scholarship Fund. The fraternity led the management and construction of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial on the Washington Mall. Dr. King was one of the most revered brothers of the fraternity.

The fraternity’s membership is more than two hundred thousand college trained men dispersed in more than 1,500 college and 900 alumni chapters throughout the United States, Korea, Europe and the Caribbean. Some of its prominent members are Justice Thurgood Marshall, Congressmen Emmanuel Cleaver, Al Green, William Gray, Charles Rangel; Ebony Publisher John H. Johnson, former PVAMU presidents Alvin I. Thomas, E. B. Evans and Charles Hines, Mayors Lee P. Brown, David Dinkins, Maynard Jackson, Frank Jackson, Raymond E. Carreathers, Jiles P. Daniels, Sr., Michael Wolfe and Ernest Morial, Texas State Representatives Al Edwards, Sylvester Turner and Boris Miles, musicians Duke Ellington, Quincy Jones and Lionel Richie; Activists Paul Robeson, W. E. B. DeBois, Olympians Ralph Metcalfe and Jesse Owens, and legendary coaches Eddie Robinson and Lenny Wilkins.

The fraternity is headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland with Mr. Mark Tillman as General President. Brian E. Rowland is president of Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter and Prentiss McGary is president of Eta Gamma Chapter. Contact: Frederick V. Roberts

No comments: