Saturday, February 15, 2014

Famed Charles Gilpin Players are featured performers at Men's Prayer Breakfast at St. Francis

In honor of Black History Month the members of the famed Charles Gilpin Players of Prairie View A&M University is the featured presenters for the Men’s Prayer Breakfast at St. Francis of Assisi Episcopal Church on February 22, 2014 at 8:30 a.m. The players will perform “His Story Speaks” highlighting the legacies and contributions of the poet Langston Hughes, The Freedom Riders and more great men form American history. The event will be held in the church’s Parish Hall on 204 Dooley Street. The production is directed by Dr. Cristal C. Truscott, Interim Department Head, Music & Theatre and Assistant Professor and Director at the university. The free event is open to all men of the community. Please email or call 936-857-3272, to confirm attendance.

Members of the public are also invited to the Christian Education and Bible Study at the church every Friday from 7:00-8:00 p.m. Come learn the word and share in the fellowship. In preparation for Lent, the public is invited to the Shrove Tuesday Pancake Supper (The Mardi Graz Edition) on Tuesday, March 4 at 6:00 p.m. and the Ash Wednesday, March 5 services at 6:00 p.m. at the church.

The City of Prairie View City Council will hold its monthly meeting on Tuesday, February 25 at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers, 44500 U. S. Business Hwy. 290 in Prairie View. The public is invited to attend and participate in the meeting.

Congratulations are in order for the members of the Epsilon Tau Lambda and Eta Gamma Chapters of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Both chapters captured the Chapter of the Year Award and the coveted Charles H. Wesley Award for brotherhood cooperation at the Texas Council of Alpha Chapters’ convention held in on February 14-16 in Houston. The delegation included chapter presidents Brian Rowland and Prentiss McGary, vice presidents Mark Spivey and Ameer McMillan and several other members. Miss Nadia Grier, representing the Eta Gamma Chapter won the 2014Miss Black and Gold title and will compete in the regional convention this March in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Miss Briana Clark, representing Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter was named in the top five. The Eta Gamma Chapter also won Step Contest and 2nd Place for the chapter with the highest GPA; and also participated in the Collegiate Scholars Bowl. Congratulations to Richard Amagwula (2nd Place Oratorical and Brother of the Year Awards); Willie MacDowell (Brother with the highest GPA) and Brother Brian Rowland (2nd Place Alumni Brother of the Year). Ameer McMillan was elected Assistant District Director for Texas.

While 2014 is an off year for general elections, the folks in Waller County still have some important races taking place. Early voting runs February 19-20 from 7:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m. for Precinct 3 Voters in the Parish Hall of St. Francis of Assisi Episcopal Church, 2014 Dooley Street. The primary election is on March 4 and if needed, the runoff election will be on April 28 from 7:00 a.m.-7:00 p.m. at the church. Candidates for Precinct 3 Judge include the incumbent Judge Elaine Marian Jackson, Jonathan Randle and Marvin Hood; for county judge Sylvia Cedillo and Sam Eng. Republican candidates for judge Stan Kitzman and Trey Duho. For information on the elections, call 979-826-7643 or visit

Candidates for the Prairie View City election are still being determined. The incumbents Mayor Frank D. Jackson and Council members Simeon Queen and Herbert R. Thomas are expected to seek reelections in the upcoming elections.

The Prairie View Retired Teachers Association, Ann Preston Unit will hold its monthly meeting on February 26, 2014 at 1:00 p.m. in the Parish Hall of St. Francis of Assisi Episcopal Church, 204 Dooley Street. The organization was founded on January 31, 1968 and led by Mrs. Anne C. Preston, founder. Interested persons are invited to attend. Mrs. Joyce Thornton is the president.

The Prairie View Chamber of Commerce will hold its meeting on Thursday, January 24 at 6:00 pm in the George E. Higgs Alumni Headquarters. All business owners and entrepreneurial savvy capitalists are invited to attend. Mr. George Higgs is president.

Your prayers and encouragement are welcomed for the health and well-being of Esel Bell, Ernestine Carreathers, William H. Chapman, Irene Davis, B. J. Freeman, Timothy Hall, Betty Jackson, David Kirkpatrick, James Poindexter, Irene Reid, Leroy Singleton, Willie Smith, Mary Ann Stubblefield, Theola Woods and Douglas Woolfolk. May God’s peace be with you!

HAPPY FEBRUARY BIRTHDAY WISHES TO: Dianne Thomas (20), Juanita Pennywell (20), Irene Wallace (21), George E. Higgs (22), Mogongwa Nnana (22), Johnson Ezeoka Jr. (22), Luther Francis (24), Denyse Kirkpatrick (24), James Kent Tompkins (25) and Wyiatta Freeman (26). HAPPY ANNIVERSARY GREETINGS TO: Herbert & Dianne Thomas (20), Carol & Leonard Campbell (21), Munson & Linda Durham (24) and James & Norma Tompkins (24). THE VIEW FROM THE HILL: President George C. Wright continued his lecture series with a presentation from U.S. Congressman Al Green of Houston’s 9th District on February 19. Congressman Green enlightened the audience on his role in the congress and the various legislations he authored to help the people of America. He also encouraged the audience to participate in the political process.

The Career Services and Outreach Department at Prairie View A&M University will host its 2014 Spring Career Fair on February 19 at the university. More than 100 employers from corporate America, government and non-profit agencies, and educational institutions came to the campus seeking to hire students for full and part-time and internship positions. The Prairie View A&M National Alumni and the Collegiate 100, Epsilon Gamma Iota and Phi Beta Lambda assisted the Center with pre-career fair workshops. Go to for information.

Prairie View A&M University is now accepting nominations for its 2014 Humanitarian Awards to be presented during the May 10 Commencement Exercises. The award recognizes a PVAMU student and a non-student whose life and humanitarian service clearly embodies a true spirit of love and helpfulness to others. Go to for the Humanitarian Awards nomination forms.

On A Cultural Note, I am sure you knew that on Feb. 21, 1936 - Barbara Jordan is born in Houston and became the first African American state senator in Texas since 1883.

Until next week, in the words of Justice Thurgood Marshall, “A man can make what he wants of himself if he truly believes that he must be ready for hard work and many heartbreaks;” so do your part! Keep the news, achievements and recognitions coming to P. O. Box 2906, Prairie View, Texas 77446 or

No comments: