Sunday, February 16, 2014

Prairie View Alphas win Chapters of the Year at Texas District Conference

The members of the Epsilon Tau Lambda and Eta Gamma Chapters of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., of Prairie View and Prairie View A&M University, respectively have been named the Chapters of the Year Award at the Texas Council of Alpha Chapters’ convention held in on February 14-16 in Houston. Epsilon Tau Lambda received the Alumni Chapter with the Eta Gamma Chapter winning the College Chapter of the Year Award. The chapters also captured the coveted Charles H. Wesley Award for brotherhood cooperation among the
chapters. The Chapter also took second place in the Scrapbook Award and Miss Briana Clark, representing Epsilon Tau Lambda Chapter was named in the top five. Chapter President, Brian Rowland won 2nd Place for the Alumni Brother of the Year.
In addition, the Eta Gamma Chapter won the Step Contest and second place in the Chapter with the Highest GPA; while Miss Nadia Grier, representing the Eta Gamma Chapter won the 2014 Miss Black and Gold title and the opportunity to compete in the regional convention this March in Tulsa, Oklahoma on March 27. Members of the chapter also participated in the Collegiate Scholars Bowl. Richard Amagwula won 2nd Place Oratorical and Brother of the Year Awards; Willie MacDowell won the Brother with the highest GPA Award. Ameer McMillan was elected Assistant District Director for Texas while Demario Lowe was nominated for the Assistant Regional Vice President for the South West Region.

The delegation included chapter presidents Brian Rowland and Prentiss McGary, vice presidents Mark Spivey and Ameer McMillan and Lynn Smith, Kyle Maronie, Frederick V. Roberts and several other members.

The members will travel to Tulsa March 26-29 for the Regional Convention.

No comments: